End of Year Awards
Posted On in News Added By : anthonyleavy

Athboy C.S Awards Ceremony and Graduation Mass

Athboy Community School held a very successful Awards Ceremony in the school gymnasium on Tuesday May 23rd to celebrate the academic, curricular and extra-curricular activities that are ongoing in the school. The event was co-ordinated by teacher Mr Kevin Murphy who also acted as the MC on the day.


Each year group was presented with Full Attendance Awards and Student of the Year prizes and various sporting teams were recoginsed for their progress on the field of play throughout the year.


The First Year awards were presented by Year Head Ms Connolly. The Students of the year were chosen on a class basis with Caitlin Kennedy, Ciara Dillon, Lisbeth Valge, Alina Natyahanchuk and Aislinn Duggan being chosen by the teaching staff.


First Year Class Students 2017: Aislinn Duggan, Caitlin Kennedy, Lisbeth Valge, Alina Natyahanchuk andCiara Dillon


The Second Year prizes were presented by Year Head Mr Magner also on a class basis with the winners being Christopher Sheridan, Luke Murtagh, Katie Wheeler and Cillian Heaney.


Athboy CS 2nd Year Students of the Year Luke Murtagh, Christopher Sheridan, Cillian Heaney and Katie Wheeler


Third Year Head Ms Coy presented Student of the Year prizes to Danielle Browne, Constance Peelman-Moens, Rebecca Walker and Adam Ennis. The Overall Junior Cert Student of the year was presented to Emily Smith, for her overall contribution to the school community, a very popular and worthy winner. Ms Coy also presented prizes to Victoria Alake, Debbie McMahon, Millie Osman and Darragh Cunningham to recognise the fact that they did not miss a single day in the three years of Junior Cycle.

Junior Cert Student of the Year Emily Smith pictured with her Year Head Ms Ann Coy.


Ms Taite, Year Head for 5th year was next on stage to present Student of the Year Awards to Helena Garry and Natasha Adesanmi.


Year Head for Leaving Cert Applied Miss Mooney presented awards to recognise excellence and effort throughout the year to the LCA1 class. The winners were Angel Ward (Classwork) and Cialan MacDonnchadh (Work Experience)


The focus then moved to Leaving Cert and Leaving Cert Applied Year 2 students. The LCA2 subject Students of the Year were as follows, Niamh O’Driscoll (Art and ICT) Adam Brady (Engineering, Maths and English/Communications),Cian Quinn (Leisure and Recreation), Cian Douglas and Kyle O’Sullivan (Practical Achievement Task), Shona Buckley (Gaeilge and Hotel/Catering/Tourism), Gerard Daly (Work Experience), Cameron Bevan (Science) Emily O’Neill (Social Education) The Overall Leaving Certificate Applied Year 2 Student of the Year is Adam Brady, recognition for an outstanding year and for his contribution to the school community over his years in Athboy.

Athboy CS LCA Year 2 Student of the Year Adam Brady with Year Head Miss Emma Mooney


The Leaving Cert Subject Awards were presented by Year Head Mr Fox as follows;

Bryan Greer (Accounting), Jack Gilbride (Irish), Peter Bird (English), Ellen Kane (Art), Domantas Dobrovolskas (Biology), Sarah Connell (Mathematics), Megan Walsh (Geography), Luke O’Toole (History), Laura Brady (Business), Leanne Barrett (Agricultural Science: ), Mollie Ennis (Home Economics), Sean Hughes (French), Jason McMillan (German), Karina Natyahanchuk (Overall Languages), Esmee MacPherson (Religious Education), Callum McDonnell and Fiona Dunne (LCVP), Marcus Bashford (Chemistry), Harry Hamilton (Physics), Ryan Sheridan (Music), Niamh O’Sullivan (Physical Education), Ruairí Smith (Construction Studies), Leon Duignan (DCG), Brendan Heaney (Engineering) Christopher Tiernan (Technical Subjects). Mr. Fox also presented prizes to Ryan Deane-Maughan, Killian Molloy and Jason McMillan to recognise the fact that they did not miss a single day in all their years in Athboy C.S.


Gaisce Award Winners were then presented to the audience by Miss Gallagher. There were sixth years Harry Hamilton and Christopher Tiernan who won silver awards and Ellen Kane and Lilly McGovern who won Bronze. TY Students Grace Halton, Kitty Hamilton, Katelyn McKeown, Orla McLoughlin and Claire Monaghan also won Bronze medals.


Sporting excellence was also recognised. Athletics Awards were presented by Mr. Leavy to Leo Anderson who won a Leinster Junior Hammer title for the school. The Boys Under 14 Hurling Team were presented to the crowd by Mr. Sheridan. The team won a North Leinster title this year beating St. Finians of Mullingar in the final.


The Overall Male Sports Personality of the Year is John Farrell who represented the school with great distinction over the years in Soccer, Gaelic Football and Hurling.

Male Sports Personality of the Year in Athboy CS John Farrell with teacher Mr Kevin Murphy

The Overall Female Sports Personality of the Year was presented to Nicole Kelly who has played Soccer, and Gaelic Football for the school in each of her five years in Athboy C.S.

Athboy CS Female Sports Personality of the Year Nicole Kelly with teacher Miss Ruth Fitzgerald


The final award to be presented was to the Overall Leaving Cert Student of the Year in Athboy Community School. This is presented to a student who has made a significant contribution to the school community during their time in Athboy C.S. This year the award goes to Karina Natyahanchuk. Karina has always contributed fantastically to the school community with her outstanding academic attainment, good humour, manner and positivity. She received a huge round of applause and is a very deserving and popular winner.


Athboy CS Student of the Year Karina Natyahanchuk with Principal Mr Anthony Leavy and Year Head Mr Liam Fox


The Leaving Cert Graduation Ceremony of Athboy Community School was held on Wednesday 24th of May last in the school gymnasium. The theme of the ceremony was “Remember The Past, Embrace The Future”. The celebrant was Rev. Fr. Patrick Donnelly PP of Collinstown/Fore, assisted by Rev. Paul Bogle, Rector of the Parish of Athboy and Trim Church of Ireland. Some 140 students graduated on the night and a huge crowd of parents, relatives, teachers and students gathered for the occasion.


School Chaplain Mr Joe Tynan coordinated the events on the night with help from various members of staff, Prefects and students. The choir was organised and conducted by staff member Jacqui McGowan. Mr Leavy also addressed the gathering after the mass, as did Year Head Mr Fox while Amy Collins and Cameron Bevan represented the students. Each student was presented with a scroll and a flower to mark their time in the school. The graduation cake was cut by the Leaving Cert Student of the Year Karina Natyahanchuk and the LCA Student of the Year Adam Brady.  The staff and management of the school would like to wish all of the group the very best in their exams and beyond.



Comments are closed.

© 2014 Athboy Community School
Web site design by ScoilTech